You Can Have More than One…

1st Corinthians 13:11 says, ‘When I was a child, I spake as a child, I understood as a child, I thought as a child: but when I became a man, I put away childish things.’

When I was a kid I was sure best friends were a one on one proposition: only one per customer, please! As though the heart isn’t big enough to hold more than one person in its embrace. Oh, I had close friends, dear friends. But only one of them was a ‘best’ friend.
Then I grew up and life changed. High school brought two ‘best’ friends: my closest female friend and my soon-to-be husband. Sure, there was stuff I could tell the female ‘version’ that I couldn’t share with my boyfriend. But that was normal, right?
A move to another state and a job brought someone else into my life: another person I connected with on that deep emotional level. My husband and I drifted apart, I met another individual and we just ‘clicked’.
Now, 22 years after that move, I find myself with an entire ‘tribe’ of close friends: people I connect with in all my geeky, nerdy glory. *And* I have three ‘best’ friends: my (now) husband, a woman who is my lifeline in times of stress and fun, and someone who has seen me through hell and back.
And I love every single one of them.

I’m a firm believer in ‘when God shuts a door, he opens a window’. Or ‘when God shuts one door, he opens another door.’

Either way you look at it, I have a tribe. And they are awesome.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

