Back from the relative dead

School tried to kill me. That’s my only reason for not writing more than I have. Who knew that raising viable kids, teaching said sprouts, publishing my first book and going to school all at the same time was so damn difficult?? 😀

I’m seriously considering continuing my schooling and going for my Masters in Creative Writing specializing in Fiction. While I never, ever thought I’d say that, I’ve also learned that I love college. I really, really do. It makes me feel like I’m not stagnating in my life and, honestly, I want to make sure that if something happens to my husband, I have the means to support myself and our kids. Nothing like being out of the work-force for 10+ years to make me realize I need more… not just to fulfill my own desires, but to be the best parent I can possibly be. And the upside is that the boys get to see me working hard in school — which can only benefit them in their home education. Especially when one example was me me crying over pre-algebra and statistics. Yup. I cried. But hopefully my kids will see that sometimes you just have to plow through the hard stuff in life…even if it makes you cry.

 

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Back from the relative dead

  1. Cindy Stockton

    Shanti, I admire your strength and courage. You are an amazing woman. Where a lot of people would have given up, you keep pushing towards you goals and dreams. May God bless you in everything you do, my friend. Love, Cindy.

  2. Thanks, Cindy. Honestly, most days I feel like I’m careening from point to point, just struggling to get it all accomplished.

  3. ChrisAnn

    Not all the benefits are monetary. You mention what a role model you are for your kids…that will continue on as they chose life partners & have children. You have set the bar & they can’t help but be attracted to ladies of similar quality 🙂

Leave a Reply

