V stands for Vegetables

My kids loathed vegetables for years. Not when they were very, very young, but definitely as they grew older. There were, of course, certain vegetables that never made it to our table. Asparagus, for instance. And okra. (Yuck. Not even Indian curry can make okra okay, in my opinion.) Peas were out, too, even though I sang the ‘pea’ song. “I eat my peas with honey, I’ve done it all my life. They may taste kinda funny, but they stick well to the knife.” Yeah. My kids weren’t impressed, either.

But then my foodie husband started baking the vegetables. Especially the broccoli. With marjoram leaves, olive oil and a sprinkle of garlic.

And the kids loved it.

We expanded our horizons. It worked really well with green beans, as well as those frozen mixed bag vegetables. The best part? If you don’t have any marjoram, or run out of it (like we did), any other available spice you enjoy works well.

So enjoy those vegetables!

9 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

9 responses to “V stands for Vegetables

  1. scribblesfromjenn

    I’m not a big veggie fan either. Maybe I shoud try your husbands recipes.

    j-scribbles.blogspot.com/”>ScribblesFromJenn
    Happy A to Z-ing!

  2. I was making brownies today and I tried this!! I had fresh beans, not the frozen ones and tried the same. I love veggies and loved this too…
    You missed the oven temp and the duration… So I tried with 325 deg F for 25 mins along with the brownie pan.
    Thanks for this.. I am enjoying it as I type this

  3. I’m currently taking Information Technology, which I hate, but it’s a required course. Thankfully, it’ll be over Sunday and Monday brings two more classes which hopefully I’ll enjoy more.

  4. moonlightandhershadow

    Oh baking vegetables! I’ve never really thought of that. I’ve grilled them before but I’ll try my hand at baking tonight. I’ll have to substitute the marjoram though. Thanks for the tip!

Leave a Reply

