L stands for Laughter

 

 

 

 

 

 

Not the bad kind of ‘Oh. My. Gwad. You’re wearing THAT?!’ laughter. The good kind. The kind that cramps your stomach and leaves you with a smile on your face.

Without laughter, the world would be a dull place, indeed. Some authors have great comedic talent (Jenni James’ novels Pride & Popularity and Northanger Alibi are great examples of comedic Y.A.), while others excel at the creepy (Stephen King and Dean Koontz). Each talent has its place, of course, but the writers I prefer to read can make me laugh, cry, despair and triumph… all in the same novel.

I never thought I was the type of writer to have talent even remotely resembling comedic anything. Then I created my first gnome. And he absolutely cracked me up. He was fun, he was quirky, and he rapidly stole the hearts of everyone who read him. He turned what was an epic fantasy (with all the drama that implies) into something more.And that something more was worth every keystroke.

(…excerpt of BoH…rough unrevised draft…)

The gnome squatted by the fire, unseemingly bothered by the cold. “I do, but not the bad meat. Only the good meat.” He lowered his voice and they all leaned forward to hear his next words. “The bad meat is, well, really, really bad. I don’t recommend it at all. Not that it’ll make you ill, ‘cause I ate some once and it didn’t. Make me ill, that is…” He wilted a bit as they stared at his abnormal chattiness. “The Elders sent me to come with you. They said I needed to —” he scratched his nearly bald head. “Represent the gnomes when you found the elves.”

“So now we need a gnome to get an elf to get the Hand from the gnomes?” Leena closed her eyes. “I’m getting a headache.”

“A headache?” Orgon leaned across the fire, nearly setting himself ablaze in the process. “Where?”

Leena closed her eyes tighter. “In. My. Head.”

“Really? Can I see it?”

She shook her head. Gently. “Not unless you plan on dissecting me.”

“Oh, it’s on the inside?”

Leena opened one eye and glanced across the fire. Yes, he was utterly serious.

(…end of excerpt…)

As you can see, he was a great deal of fun to write. I could be as silly and nonsensical as I wanted to. And, best of all, I made everyone who read him laugh.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “L stands for Laughter

  1. Well, your draft excerpt seemed complicated!
    Seemed serious for an entry for laughter. Leena, Orgon, Elves, Gnomes. Got a little confused as to who is who. It seems fun. Yes, But just reading the excerpt left me a little blank. May be when I do get a chance to read the book, I will get over it 🙂

    Good Luck 🙂 and keep writing!

  2. Look forward to the rest of your challenge run…can’t believe we’ve had 15 days already!
    –Damyanti, Co-host A to Z Challenge April 2012

    Twitter: @AprilA2Z
    #atozchallenge
    Amlokiblogs

Leave a Reply

