I stands for Ichabod

When someone says ‘Ichabod’, what is the first thing that comes to your mind? Do you think ‘Oh my God, they’re insane!’, or does your mind immediately, automatically, add ‘Crane’ onto the end?

As writers, we all want to write at least one story, novel, poem, or memoir that resonates with an audience as deeply as  The Legend of Sleepy Hollow. I haven’t read the book in years, but I remember enough to know the basic premise of the novel. While one might not remember the minute details of Irving’s short story, just about everyone who has gone through an English class in a U.S. public school has been subjected to the tall, thin, endlessly hungry Ichabod.

And isn’t that what writing is all about? Not only allowing us to get our inner demons onto the page, but in some way building that connection between author and reader which leaves them saying, in later years, ‘Oh, yeah! I remember reading that!’ with a shine in their eye and joy in their voice?

 

 

 

 

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “I stands for Ichabod

  1. k~

    Okay, I admit it, it was Crane… 😉

  2. When I started to read this, I had no clue about what you are talking 🙂
    I had not come across this – But, what else is google for??

    So, anyone like me – here is the link for its ebook – http://www.gutenberg.org/ebooks/41

    I just downloaded it and am starting to read!

  3. Thanks for including that link! 🙂 I should have thought of that when I posted. Silly me.

  4. I added Crane too. You are right, you want to leave something for your reader to look back on in the future and remember your words…

  5. At what level or grade is this book introduced?

  6. I’m so sorry! I meant to answer this, and then finals hit with school and I got super busy 😦 The grade level is 8th.

Leave a Reply

