‘B’ stands for ‘boys’

There’s nothing quite like raising boys. Even raising a tom-boy doesn’t compare. Especially when one of said boys thinks he’s a ‘cool’ teenager who needs to teach his younger brother how to be cool.

Hysterical doesn’t begin to cover it.

It began with the oldest telling his brother that he needs to wear basketball shorts under his jeans (just in case he gets pants’d!), along with a belt. (The Mom in me is wondering how he’s gonna get pants’d if he’s wearing a belt to keep said pants up… but okay.) Moving on… next comes the shirt. The Boy Scouts camp one has to be changed — but into what? Mario is rejected because the shirt is too big, solar system Mickey isn’t gonna work (‘When is Mickey not  cool??’ I wonder. Maybe it’s because the shirt is black and it’s way hot outside.) But the ‘How to Keep Stupid People Busy’ shirt gains the 14 year old’s approval. So off the younger goes. To play with the other kids, I thought.

Nope.

I look outside only to witness four kids attempting to teach him how to tie his shoes by having him wear his brother’s extra pair (which are like 5 sizes too big!). By the way, how many kids does it take to teach shoe tying?? Way more than four apparently, ’cause he was getting confused at four different sets of instructions… imagine that!

The ‘extra’ set of snowshoes… I mean, the teen’s shoes!… get tossed into a quickly opened and closed front door before the porch is abandoned and the entire horde migrates across the street to jump on the trampoline…

Leaving,  of course!,  the basketball someone had been bouncing directly  in front of the storm door. ‘Cause that’s not an accident waiting to happen…

 

 

10 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

10 responses to “‘B’ stands for ‘boys’

  1. I can sort of imagine now how my mum feels when she has to deal with us 4 brothers in the house.

    Poor mum :3

  2. What a great family! I look forward to reading more.

  3. MOV

    Hello,

    What a great post! I think this is my new favorite blog! I have sons, so I can relate. I will definitely be back to see what you dream up for the other letters, and to read more of your lovely writing.

    I am doing the A to Z Challenge as well. Take a peek at my blog too if you get a chance! I write humor. (Well, I make myself laugh, and sometimes that’s enough.)

    Best,
    MOV

    • One of my favorite sayings is ‘If you can’t laugh at yourself, who can you laugh at?’ What’s life without humor, after all…
      Thanks so much! I’m heading over to your blog now 🙂
      Boys are an interesting species, that’s for sure.

  4. ha ha I can sooo imagine!! My dd is a tomboy from the word go but in the past couple of years she has started to do some girly stuff…enjoy them one day at a time…lol

  5. Hi Shanti, loved this post, I also have two boys, so it was really hilarious to read about your two.

Leave a Reply

