Stuff and nonesense!

‘No, Oompa Loompas!’

My kids officially have their own computer now. Which is, it’s up and running and hooked up. It only took three years to get it that way. Which I’m grateful for (the being hooked up part, not the taking three years part). Now I can say good-bye to the endless bookmarked gaming pages, the semi-constant ‘When I can be on the computer?’ while I’m trying to write, edit, do schoolwork, chat on the IM… whatever it happens to be.

The teen wanted it in his room… Ummm… goin’ with ‘No!’ on that one. Computers stay in the living room. I have a hard enough time with him not staying up until one or two in the morning… let’s not make it 1000 times worse. Not to even mention the trauma that’d cause my youngest.

So now I’m sitting in my p.j.’s, cup of hot chocolate on my right, open Nook on the left; synopsis open, manuscript open… and the oh so lovely sounds of Super Mario Galaxy (for the Wii) echoing behind my chair, along with my ten year old’s string of complaints when the game ‘cheats’… At least the teen is using headphones while he plays ‘Need for Speed’. I don’t think my brain could handle Mario mixed in with the sounds of sirens and shifting gears.

 

Oh yeah, this is gonna be a great set-up for writing and schoolwork. I can tell already. <sigh>

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Stuff and nonesense!

  1. Well, I haven’t seen Charlie and the Chocolate Factory. I guess, I will see it when 2 and half year old is ready for it.
    So, I had to google the word oompa loompa to find it under an urban dictionary. I did not understand 2 things here –
    1. The reference of oompa loompas in this blog? Whom are you calling oompa loompas? your kids?
    2, And was the word nonEsense in the title, deliberately written that way?
    http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=nonesense

    I am new to writing and blogging and am learning from others. And hence these and a lot of other questions πŸ™‚ Hope you don’t mind!!

    • In the movie, one of the characters says ‘Stuff and nonsense!’ and Willy Wonka replies with ‘No, Oompa Loompas!’

      My blog, in case you haven’t figured it out already πŸ˜€ , is not necessarily going to be spelling perfect, grammar perfect, or syntax correct. So no, ‘nonesense’ was a simple spelling error. Nothing more.

      I don’t mind the questions. There is no such thing as a stupid question and if you don’t ask, how can you learn? πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

